Netgear router login reset

If your wireless router malfunctions and causes the trouble in your internet connection, then you need a Netgear router login reset.  Resetting your router is not a difficult task, you just need to follow some simple steps and you can reset your device to its factory default settings without any trouble.  In this post, we are going to share the simple step-by-step guidelines that can help you with the Netgear router login reset on your device.  Reset will restore the default values of your router settings and erase all the customizations you have made. So, let’s proceed with the next point and learn the simple steps.

How do I reset my NETGEAR password?

Reset the router through a web interface

First, you need to visit the www.routerlogin.net web link to access the web interface.  If this URL does not work, you can type 192.168.0.1 in the address bar and hit the enter button. The IP address or URL is present on the backside of your Netgear router. In case, the URL is not working, you can also use the Command prompt for finding the correct IP Address.

  • Press the ‘Windows + X’ key using the keyboard. This will show the power user menu and from there, you can choose the ‘Command Prompt’ to open the Utility.
  • Now, you need to type the ‘ip-config’ in the Command Prompt and hit the ‘Enter’ button to get the complete information about your network.
  • Find the IP address of the router in the Default Gateway section and use the address to access the web interface.

Now,  you need to type the username and password in the mentioned fields.  By default,  the username is admitted and the password is password.

Restore the Settings From web

In case you do not know the correct username and password, you can go with the Netgear router login reset using the ‘Reset’ button and reset your router to its factory default settings. Else, you can also choose the ‘Backup Settings’ option from the Maintenance tab and click on the ‘Erase’ button to revert to the factory default settings for the router reset process.

Some of the routers do not pop up for the confirmation of action and immediately reset to restore all the settings to its factory default. 

Use the Factory Reset Button

For the Netgear router login reset, you can click on the ‘Reset’ button to restore your router to its factory default. Take a pin or paper clip and press the Restore Factory settings button for about 10 seconds- or until you see the power LED starts to blink. Do not put too much pressure on the reset button as it could damage it and void the router warranty. Once the reset process is completed, your device will restart.

Important: Some of the Netgear Routers like ‘ DGN2000 and DG834Gv5′ do not have the reset button. Thus, you need to press and hold the ‘Wireless On/Off’ and ‘WPS’ button for at least 6 seconds to reset the router- or until you see the power LED blinking.

We hope that after following these simple guidelines you will get to know How To Reset Netgear Router.   Once you reset the router to its factory default, it will delete all the previously made settings from the router. Also,  you need to log in again using the default login credentials. We recommend you to change the default username and password for the better safety and protection of your router.  The aforementioned guidelines are simple and let you complete the reset process without any trouble.  But, if you still have a doubt or there is any other query regarding the router reset process,  contact the experts. The experts can suggest the best possible solution to your problem and make sure that you have the best internet experience with  Netgear.